Escaping Abuse Part 12: “ Is anyone out there?”

Sakh.writes
3 min readMay 8, 2024
Photo by Linus Nylund on Unsplash

The intrusion of my space and privacy, discouraged me from staying in touch with friends, or expressing anything to my family members.

I became paranoid, questioning all the actions taken and words spoken in my husbands absence, fearful that I was constantly being monitored and one wrong move could unleash yet another violent episode.

Fortunately, there was one relationship that my husband couldn’t sever.

And that was my relationship with my God.

In Hindsight, all that isolation gave me the opportunity to spend time in solitude with Allah.

Years later, I came across something beautiful from Ibn al-Qayyim (raḥimahullāh):

“Truly in the heart there is a certain loneliness that cannot be removed except by spending time with Allah in solitude. In the heart there is a sadness that cannot be removed except through the happiness of knowing Allah and being true to Him… In the heart there is a void that cannot be filled except through loving Allah, turning to Him constantly, always remembering Him, and being sincere to Him. Were a person to be given the entire world and everything in it, it would never fill this void.”

--

--

Sakh.writes

Welcome to my caffeine-fuelled journey of motherhood and self-discovery. Grab your favourite brew and lets explore this wild ride together! #MuslimMama #MomLife